ACM ICPC 2016 Philippines Southern Luzon Invitational Programming Contest

The Department of Computer Science, in partnership with the Ateneo ICTC and Network Operations and Computer Services (NOCS), hosted the ACM-ICPC 2016 Philippines Southern Luzon Invitational Programming Contest last October 1, 2016. The event was participated by 15 teams composed of College students from 9 different Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the Southern Luzon (1 Team from Quezon Province, 1 Team from Camarines Norte, 2 Teams from Sorsogon, 3 Teams from Albay, and 8 Teams from Camarines Sur). Jelly P. Aureus, faculty of the Department of Computer Science is the Contest Director. The said contest is officially sanctioned by ACM ICPC Body.

The second and third place winners of the ACM/ICPC Southern Luzon Invitational Contest were Team Ignatius (solved 5 out of 12 problems) and Team Xavier (solved 4 out of 12 problems) from Ateneo de Naga University. Team Ignatius is composed of Albert Nikko Claro (BS CS), Louie Lester Pascual (BS CS), and John Carlo Ariola (BS IT). Team Xavier is composed of Raymund Edgar Alvarez (BS CS), Helimar Rabago (BS IT), and Mark Arthur Caro III (BS IT). The team from University of the Philippines Los Baños won first place (solving 7 out of 12 problems) in the said programming contest.