University Convocation Awards 2019

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Featured / News

The Ateneo de Naga University held its annual University Convocation Awards on 16 August 2019 at the University Gymnasium. This year’s awardees are Hon. John G. Bongat for the Bulawan na Bikolnon Service to Bikol Award, and the Missionaries of the Poor for the Bishop Jorge Barlin Service to the Church Award.

Hon. John G. Bongat, began his career as a lawyer, but soon took up the call to leadership by serving as city councilor for three terms (2001 to 2010), and as Mayor of Naga City (2010 to 2018). Hon. Bongat was awarded in recognition of his years of service as Mayor, contributing to the growth and progress of Naga City, and for his excellence in leadership, serving as a model of good governance and dynamic collaboration.

The Missionaries of the Poor (MOP) was founded by Fr Richard Ho Lung, a former Jesuit who wished to focus his efforts for the poor and the marginalized in Kingston, Jamaica. The MOP began as a small cluster of brothers in 1991, but quickly grew into a dedicated community with members from all over the world. The MOP was awarded in recognition of their service to the Church and God’s people in Bikol, shown by their generous assistance and care for the poor and marginalized.

The Bulawan na Bikolnon Award was instituted by the Ateneo de Naga University to recognize exemplary service by an individual, group or institution to Bicol culture and development. This year, the University especially singled out an individual for his public service that has nurtured socio-economic dynamism in Naga City, enabling it to maintain its status as the premier city of Region V.

The Bishop Jorge I. Barlin, the Service to the Church Award is intended to honor the clergy, men and women of religious congregations or institutions in recognition of the service they have rendered to the Church, especially the Church in Bicol.