You are currently viewing AdNU-MPA and CLG Conduct BPPBW at San Juan, Magarao and Ayugan, Ocampo, CS

AdNU-MPA and CLG Conduct BPPBW at San Juan, Magarao and Ayugan, Ocampo, CS

The Ateneo de Naga University Master in Public Administration (AdNU-MPA) through the Center for Local Governance (CLG) conducted the Barangay Participatory Planning and Budgeting Workshop (BPPBW) Demonstration on 26 to 27 September 2015 at San Juan, Magarao and Return-Demonstration on 10 and 11 October 2015 at Ayugan, Ocampo, Camarines Sur.

The BPPBW is one of the program requirements of MPA subject PA204-Planning, Programming, Budgeting and Systems Analysis, under Dr. Malu C. Barcillano and Ms. Jennifer C. San Jose.

The workshop aims to enhance the knowledge of the Barangay Development Council and the Sanggunian Barangay in the formulation of their Annual Investment Plan and linking it to the barangay budget by means of the participatory planning method.

The BPPBW covers the following sessions: Brief Orientation on Local Governance; Current Reality Dialogue; Shared Practical Vision Workshop; Strategic Directions Workshop; Annual Investment Planning and Prioritization; Barangay Budget System; Plan Budget Consolidation; and Workshop Conclusion.

During the first day of each workshop, the participants were oriented on some important provisions of the Local Government Code as well as recognized the Current Reality Situation through the Statement of the Barangay Address (SOBA) delivered by the respective Punong Barangays. They also formulated the Shared Practical Vision and identified Strategic Directions to achieve the vision.

On the second day, the participants came up with the prioritized Programs, Projects and Activities (PPAs) and incorporated it to the Annual Investment Plan. The different components and process of the Barangay Budget System was also discussed. Finally, the participants adopted the Workshop Outputs through a Barangay Resolution.

The participants were the members of the Barangay Development Council headed by the Sangguniang Barangays along with the heads and representatives of the different sectors such as the Senior Citizen, Farmers Association, Health Workers, Nutrition Scholars, Day Care Workers, Lupong Tagapamayapa and Barangay Tanods.

The facilitators for the Demonstration were Mr. Jay P. Abawag, Ms. Emerlie M. Rayala, Mr. Errol A. Pederio and Ms. Maria Lourdes A. Ranin.

While for the Return-Demonstration, the facilitators were Maricel Alinarte, Marbin Ciudadano, Cyril Rapi, Bernard Aquiler and Epifanio Terbio.


By Bernard C. Aquiler