You are currently viewing DACA’s “An Maogmang Lugar” is 40th MMFF Animation Best Picture

DACA’s “An Maogmang Lugar” is 40th MMFF Animation Best Picture

Ateneo de Naga University’s “An Maogmang Lugar,” an animated short film that tells the story of Nesto and Verga and their love that endures beyond a lifetime, won the New Wave Animation Best Picture Award in the recently concluded 40th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF).

This is the second time that the Ateneo de Naga animators won in the annual Christmas-time film festival. Just last year, Omar Aguilar’s “Ang Lalong ni Kulakog” won the Special Jury Prize for Animation.

Ang Maogmang Lugar_MINI POSTER

Produced during the 2014 Animation Production Summer Camp of the Department of Digital Arts and Computer Animation, the animated short which was directed by Mary Ann Espedido from the story of Omar P. Aguilar also won First Prize in the 26th Gawad CCP para Alternatibong Pelikula at Video held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines’s Tanghalang Manuel Conde last November. The other members of the production team were George Bien, Robin Macandog, Rabboni Matubang, Pauline Zenit, Chris Baldeo, and Korina Quiachon.

“An Maogmang Lugar” bested four other finalists in the Animation Category of MMFF’s New Wave Section namely “Cherry” by Dustin Uy [Yawp! Studio], “Gymsnatch” by Eric Dequitos [De La Salle – College of St. Benilde], “Isip Bata” by Eugene Ceriola & Keith Bercero [University of Makati] and “Shifter” by Jerico Valentino C. Fuentes [DOST–Advanced Science and Technology Institute]. “Cherry” was awarded the Special Jury Prize for Animation.

As a prelude to the 40th Metro Manila Film Festival, the New Wave entries were screened from 17 to 24 December 2014 at Glorietta 4 and SM Megamall cinemas. The MMFF Awards Night was held on 27 December at the Plenary Hall of the Philippine International Convention Center.