HS Seniors Vie for Ecolympiad Champ Tilt | Ateneo de Naga University


HS Seniors Vie for Ecolympiad Champ Tilt

The Instructional Media Center (IMC) was transformed into a modern-day Colosseum as senior students from various schools clash head-to-head in the 2nd Economics Olympiad (Ecolympiad) last 22 February 2014.

The event was organized by the Economics Cluster of the Social Sciences Department in partnership with the Economics Society (ECOSOC).

A Battle of the “Best Minds”
The Ecolympiad is an annual competition of graduating high school students with special interest in the field of Economics. Not just a contest, the event aims to give emphasis on the role of Economics both in regional and national development.


According to Mr. Emmanuel Vito Abejero, Ph.D. (cand.), head organizer, the event aims to “gather, reward and recognize the best minds among high school enthusiasts.”
Months before the event, teachers from the Economics Cluster, through their students, disseminated the invitation to high schools. As there is no maximum limit of students sent per school, contestants must only get an endorsement from their principal and coach. An accomplished registration form, photocopy of current ID, and a fee qualifies the student for the competition.
The elimination round of the competition consists of essay and quiz bee components. The on-the-spot essay writing component had the theme “Role of Bicolano youth in the development of the Regional Economy.”  From 19 contestants, ten qualified for the semi-final round.
The quiz bee is composed of three rounds: elimination – composed of 10 questions; semi-final – composed of seven questions and; final – composed of five questions. Each round is composed of easy, average and difficult questions with one, two and three points respectively. Only those who scored with the five highest points qualify for the final round.
After this, the one who scored the highest solely on the final round is hailed as the Champion.
The Champion and the 1st runner-up will receive a full scholarship grant in AB Economics, until completion of the Program,starting academic year 2014-2015. Their schools also received trophies.  The 2nd runner-up received medal as recognition. All participating students were given certificates of participation.
Crème de la crème
Due to time constraints, the supposed to be regional competition was limited to a province-wide tournament. High Schools from various parts of the province have sent their best students for the event. The participating schools are as follows: Dominican School of Calabanga, Camarines Sur National High School, St. Bridget School, Arborvitae Plains Montessori, Inc. – Pasacao Campus, La Purisima National High School, and Sabang National High School.
The students along with their coaches were welcomed by the Department Chairperson, Mr.Rolan Jon Bulao, MA. The chairperson highlighted the advantages of earning an economics degree in college. Foremost of these advantages are being equipped for graduate school, corporate work, government work, and even international work. “You understand what people on TV are talking about… and you can also tell whether a politician is lying if you know economics,” furthered Mr.Bulao.
The event was also graced with the full attendance of the faculty of Economics Cluster, Ms. Bernadette Gumba, Ph.D., Ms.Marlyn L. Tejada, MA, and Ms.Rosario Felix, DBA. The members of ECOSOC provide manpower throughout the activity.
The Champion of this year`s Ecolympiad is Elaine Grace Odavar from La Purisima National High School. However, she has foregone the scholarship for she had already planned his college in a different university. The two slots for the scholarship went to Hedda Mae De Osio of Dominican School of Calabanga and Carlos Achondo Jr. of Camarines Sur National High School who placed 2nd and 3rd, respectively.
Mr.Abejero thanked the participants who have made their best efforts to join this occasion. The Department gave its utmost gratitude to the Father President, Fr. PrimitivoViray Jr., S.J. and Ms. Evelyn Amaro of the College Admissions and Aid Office for their support and approval of the scholarship grants.
Posted in News